Mica Galvão and Tainan Dalpra Shine at WNO 21 and Get the Finish; Check the Results

Mica Galvão and Tainan Dalpra Shine at WNO 21 and Get the Finish; Check the Results

Who’s Number One 21 was held on Thursday, November 30th in Austin, Texas. The main card featured several big name  athletes competing in grappling matches.

In the main event, Pedro Marinho retained his light heavyweight championship belt against Rafael Lovato Jr. in an extremely competitive match. This marked Marinho’s second title defense. Following the bout, Marinho expressed interest in a future match against up-and-coming grappler Tye Ruotolo.
Mica Galvão had an impressive performance in retaining the WNO welterweight title. In the co-main event, Galvão submitted Kody Steele with a rear naked choke. With this victory, Galvão has now earned nine wins against just one loss in WNO competitions.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by FloGrappling (@flograppling)

Post-match, during an interview with FloGrappling’s Kendall Reusing, Galvao shared his desire for his next opponent:

I think that there’s someone that I would really love to do a match (with). Since 2021 this match has been ongoing, like people have been calling for it.

I don’t see anyone else like better suited for this title-defense than I think – Nicky Ryan.

Ryan, who was in the audience, accepted the challenge on the spot:

Yeah, I’m super excited. It’s been a long time coming.

Obviously I had a lot of injuries that kept me out of the competition scene but I’m healthy.
I’m getting active again and I know I’ll be ready for it.

Making his grappling debut since earning his black belt, Tainan Dalpra has an outstanding record of 70 wins and only one loss in IBJJF matches. At WNO 21, Dalpra showed his skills in no-gi grappling by mounting and securing an armbar submission against Troy Russell. Dalpra then called for a spot on the WNO 22 card scheduled for February 9th.
In addition to Marinho, Galvão and Dalpra, other Brazilian athletes were victorious. Diego Pato defeated Diogo Reis after Reis suffered a knee injury. As a result, the WNO featherweight title was awarded to Pato. Giancarlo Bodoni won a decision over Lucas Hulk, while Luke Griffith earned a heel hook submission of Roosevelt Sousa.


Pedro Marinho defeated Rafael Lovato Jr. by referee decision
Mica Galvão submitted Kody Steele with a rear naked choke
Diego Pato defeated Diogo Reis by medical stoppage
Luke Griffith submitted Roosevelt Sousa with a heel hook
Helena Crevar defeated Julia Maele by referee decision
Tainan Dalpra submitted Troy Russell with an armbar